FAQ

Consciousness is all there is.

RAMESH BALSEKAR

FAQ

1. I am pregnant and would really like to come to yoga. Is that possible?

Yes. There is no specific class offered purely for pregnant women. However, in the Mysore style class, our teachers can offer you a specific sequence created for pregnancy. As every pregnancy has it's own complications these should be discussed before any class begins so the teacher may incorporate individual and specific adjustments.

2. Am I covered by medical insurance?

Officially no. Some companies will cover a part of the costs. Our experience shows that a regular yoga practice is the most effective for premium health if practiced over a longer period of time. Most medical insurance companies see this differently. So we have introduced a Rabat system and we conduct classes in such a way that they meet certain requirements of the companies. At regular intervals we also offer specific classes recognized by the insurance companies as deductibles.

3. I have never done yoga before. How do I start?

If you have never done yoga or participated in something similar then we recommend you begin with "Ashtanga for beginners" or "Inspya Level 1". However, if these timings don't suit you then you may also participate in a Mysore class as these are also individually guided. Your Yoma-Team offers you their 100% percent personal and professional advice.

4. I have done other yoga classes before. What is the difference with Ashtanga?

Ashtanga is practiced following a specific sequence of postures. These postures build upon each other and are changed with the rhythm of your breath. Mysore style is practiced on an individual basis, guided, directed and corrected by the teacher in order to find your own rhythm and at your own pace.

5. What is Mysore Style?

Mysore is a city in India which brought the practice of Ashtanga yoga to the west. The founders of Ashtanga Shri K. Pattabhi Jois and his teacher T. Krishnamachaya are both from Mysore. Mysore is the traditional way of teaching Ashtanga. You work through the sequence independently being guided by the teacher who will teach you the different postures as you advance through the poses at your own individual pace.

6. Do I have to know the series off by heart before coming to my first Mysore class?

No, everyone is lead through the class individually.

7. I have heard that Ashtanga yoga is the most traditional style of yoga. What does that mean?

There are many different yoga traditions. Ashtanga is the stem form of the dynamic Vinyasa Yoga which has now morphed into other styles like Power yoga or Jivamukti yoga.

8. What does Ashtanga mean?

The name Ashtanga comes from the Yoga Sutras of Pantajali and means " The eight limbs or paths"

(Asta= 8, Anga= limbs or paths)

9. Where can I read more about Ashtanga?

For example in the Internet www.ashtangayoga.info

10. As the series always follows the same postures doesn't it become boring?

No. Ashtanga is an active form of meditation. After a short time the student learns the sequence and the flow of breathe controls the overactive thinking. The breathe becomes controlled and quiet. The inner calm spreads then to the often troubled mind.

The teacher gives new impulses depending on the constitution, which are either in the buildup of the series or in the deepening of ones own practice.

11. What is Inspya Yoga?

Inspya (Integrated South Pacific Yoga Academy)  was founded by the Australian Lance Schuler. Inspya unites different elements of various styles into a new dynamic form of practice. Unlike Ashtanga yoga there is no set sequence of postures rather specific themes that are worked on during the class. For example this could be the working on opening up the shoulders or strengthening the spinal column.

12.  Is Ashtanga yoga only meant for young and athletic types?

No, with the simplification and modifications of the exercises geared toward the individual whether they're pregnant, old, handicapped or recovering from an illness makes Ashtanga the perfect vehicle to learn and practice.

13. I have a sporting injury/scoliosis etc. Can I still do yoga?

Yes, also here we can create a sequence that integrates the injury or illness into the postures better to look after the individuals requirements.

14. Why is there so much emphasis on the correct breathing?

The breath is the most important aspect of Yoga. Through a quiet and regular breathing the mind can be stilled. The physically demanding practice is the training ground for this.

Inspite of the challenging postures we aim to keep a steady and balanced breathing.

When we become conscious of our breath we are able to integrate this into our daily life.

15. How often should I practice?

Anything is better than nothing. The traditionalists practice 6 times a week. The practice should be integrated into your daily life as stress free as possible, without pressure. 15 minutes a day is better, through our experience, than once a week for 4 hours straight.

16. Can I drink during the class?

You should try to not drink anything ca. 30 minutes before the beginning of the class. We don't normally drink during the practice. A detoxification and cleansing process is initiated by your perspiration. Your liquids should be replaced at the end of the class.

17. Do I need my own yoga mat?

No. Yoma has more than enough fresh mats for everyone. For hygiene reasons it is advised to use your own mat.

18. What do I need to bring to the class?

The best clothing is tight fitting sportswear (and bare feet). Yoma has a change room also available.

19. Is there yoga etiquette?

In general it is respecting the studio and the people in it. That means, cell phones switched off and being aware of your personal hygiene. During a Mysore class which needs to be as quiet as possible speaking is reduced to an absolute minimum.

20. What are the moon days?

The moon days are either the full or the new moon. The practice should not be done on these days if you are practicing regularly. The traditionalists believe that the chance of injury is greatly increased on these two days month.

FAQ

Consciousness is all there is.
RAMESH BALSEKAR

FAQ

1. Ich bin Schwanger und würde gerne zum Yoga kommen. Ist das möglich?

Ja, wir bieten zur Zeit noch keine Kurse nur für Schwangere an. Es ist aber möglich, im Mysore-Unterricht eine Sequenz zu erarbeiten, die genau auf die individuellen Bedürfnisse der Schwangeren zugeschnitten wird. Jede Schwangere bringt andere Voraussetzungen mit und sollte entsprechend im Unterricht betreut werden.

2. Bekomme ich einen Krankenkassenzuschuss?

Offiziell nein. Manche Kassen übernehmen aber einen Anteil der Kosten. Nach unserer Auffassung muss ein guter Yogaunterricht kontinuierlich und regelmäßig über einen längeren Zeitraum stattfinden. Bei den Krankenkassen sehen die Richtlinien etwas anders aus. Somit haben wir uns entschlossen ein Rabattsystem anzubieten, um einen Unterricht anbieten zu können, der den Bedürfnissen des Schülers gerecht werden kann. Extra Krankenkassenkurse werden wir aber weiterhin in regelmäßigen Abständen anbieten.

3. Ich habe noch nie Yoga gemacht. Wie steige ich ein?

Wer noch nie mit Yoga oder etwas ähnlichem zu tun gehabt hat, sollte an den Kursen “Ashtanga für Anfänger” oder in den “Inspya Level 1″ teilnehmen. Es besteht aber auch die Möglichkeit direkt in den Mysore Unterricht einzusteigen. Das Yoma-Team berät hier auch gerne persönlich, professionell und individuell.

4. Ich habe andere Yogakurse gemacht. Wie unterscheidet sich Ashtanga?

Ashtanga wird in festen Serien d.h. in sich immer wiederholenden Abfolgen geübt, die aufeinander aufbauen und sehr klar strukturiert sind. Im Mysore Style wird „selbständig unter Anleitung“ geübt, um so im eigenen Rhythmus üben zu können und sich Stück für Stück eine eigene Praxis anzueignen.

5. Was ist Mysore Style?

Von der Stadt Mysore in Indien ausgehend, kam Ashtanga Yoga in die westliche Welt. Dort wurde Ashtanga Yoga von Shri K. Pattabhi Jois und seinem Lehrer T. Krishnamachaya, dem Begründer des modernen Yoga, gelehrt. Mysore Style ist die traditionelle Form, Ashtanga zu unterrichten. Man übt selbständig unter Anleitung und bekommt je nach Entwicklungsstand vom Lehrer neue Positionen aus den Übungsserien beigebracht. So besteht die Möglichkeit für den Lehrer, auf die individuellen Bedürfnisse des Schülers einzugehen und der Schüler kann in seiner entsprechenden Konstitution praktizieren.

6. Muss ich die Serie schon auswendig können bevor ich zum ersten Mal zum Mysore Style komme?

Nein, denn jeder wird individuell während des Unterrichts angeleitet. Siehe Frage 5.

7. Ich habe gehört, dass Ashtanga die „traditionelle“ Form des Yoga ist. Was bedeutet das?

Es gibt viele verschiedene Yoga-Traditionen. Ashtanga ist die Urform des dynamischen Vinyasa-Yoga wie zum Beispiel Power Yoga, Vinyasa Yoga oder Jivamukti Yoga.

8. Was bedeutet „Ashtanga“?

Der Name Ashtanga stammt aus den Yogasutren des Patanjali und bedeutet „Der achtgliedrige Pfad“ (Asta = Acht und Anga = Glieder).

9. Wo kann ich mehr über Ashtanga lesen?

Zum Beispiel im Internet auf www.ashtangayoga.info

10. Die Serie ist die immer gleiche Abfolge von Positionen. Wird das nicht langweilig?

Nein, Ashtanga Yoga ist eine aktive Form der Meditation. Denn schon nach kurzer Zeit beherrscht man einen Teil der Abfolge und kann diese ohne nachzudenken üben. Die Atmung wird dabei ruhig und bewusst. Diese innere Ruhe überträgt sich auf den oft unruhigen Geist. Der Lehrer gibt je nach Konstitution neue Impulse, die entweder im Aufbau der Serie oder in der Vertiefung der eigenen Praxis liegen.

11. Was ist Inspya Yoga?

Inspya (Integrated South Pacific Yoga Academy) wurde von dem Australier Lance Schuler entwickelt. Im Inspya Yoga vereinen sich Elemente aus verschiedenen Stilen zu einer dynamisch – präzisen Form. Anders als im Ashtanga Yoga gibt es hier keine feste Abfolge, sondern Themen, die in der Stunde bearbeitet werden. Dies könnten zum Beispiel die Mobilisierung der Schultern oder Stärkung der Wirbelsäule sein.

12. Ist Ashtanga Yoga nur etwas für junge und aktive Menschen?

Nein, durch die Vereinfachung der Übungen und Anpassung an die individuelle Konstitution des Schülers besteht jedem – auch Schwangeren, Älteren, Menschen mit Handicap usw.- die Möglichkeit Ashtanga Yoga zu erlernen und zu praktizieren.

Zitat Pattabhi Jois: „Ashtanga is for everyone, except lazy people.“

13. Ich habe eine Sportverletzung/Skoliose etc, kann ich trotzdem Yoga üben?

Ja, auch hier wird die Sequenz angepasst, um auf die Einschränkungen/Verletzungen positiv einzuwirken.

14. Wieso wird soviel Wert auf richtige Atmung gelegt?

Die Atmung ist der wichtigste Aspekt im Yoga. Durch eine ruhige, gleichmäßige Atmung kann der Gemütszustand positiv beeinflusst werden. Die physisch fordernde Praxis ist hierfür ein Übungsfeld. Es wird versucht, trotz Anstrengung einen gleichbleibenden Atem zu halten. Dieser bewusste Umgang damit kann in den Alltag ebenso integriert werden.

15. Wie oft sollte ich üben?

“Einmal ist besser als keinmal”. Traditionell wird an 6 Tagen in der Woche geübt. Die Praxis sollte jedoch stressfrei in den Alltag integriert werden können, da sonst ein unerwünschter Leistungsdruck entstehen kann. 15 Minuten täglich sind erfahrungsgemäß besser, als einmal pro Woche 4 Stunden am Stück.

16. Kann man während der Klasse etwas trinken?

Man sollte ca. 30 Minuten vor Unterrichtsbeginn ausreichend Flüssigkeit zu sich nehmen. Während der Praxis wird möglichst nicht getrunken. Durch das Schwitzen setzt ein Entgiftungs- und Reinigungsprozess ein. Nach dem Unterricht sollten die Flüssigkeitsreserven wieder aufgefüllt werden.

17. Brauche ich eine eigene Yogamatte?

Im Studio sind ausreichend Matten vorhanden. Aus hygienischen Gründen wird jedoch empfohlen, sich eine eigene Yogamatte anzuschaffen.

18. Was muss ich zum Kurs mitbringen?

Am besten bequeme körpernahe Sportkleidung. Ein Umkleideraum ist vorhanden.

19. Gibt es eine Yoga Etikette?

Grundsätzlich heißt es im Studio die Praxis der Anderen zu respektieren. Das bedeutet, Handy ausstellen, auf Körperhygiene achten, während des Mysoreunterrichts leise kommen und gehen, sowie die Gespräche auf ein Minimum reduzieren.

20. Was sind Mondtage?

Mondtage sind Vollmond- und Neumondtage. Bei einer regelmäßigen Praxis sollte an diesen Tagen nicht geübt werden. Nach dem traditionellen Verständnis ist die Verletzungsgefahr an diesen Tagen am höchsten.